Our Role Against Oppressors …

Diys, Evil, Faithful, Family, Fatherless, Immigration, Jesus, Justice, Love, Oppression, Our Role Against Oppressors …, Twitter, Wages

Every now and then you come across a sentence that causes you to apply Emergency Brakes as you hear the deafening screech of your tires bite into rock hard asphalt. This just happened to me. With the smell of burning rubber in the air I share the sentence with you, here it is:
“And I will come near to you to judgment; and I will be a swift witness against the sorcerers, and against the adulterers, and against false swearers, and against those that oppress the hireling in his wages, the widow, and the fatherless, and that turn aside the stranger from his right, and fear not me, saith the Lord of hosts.”

But hold on, let us just step back a minute to one of the most crucial verses of all time:
“Ye have wearied the LORD with your words. Yet ye say, Wherein have we wearied Him? When ye say, Every one that doeth evil is good in the sight of the LORD, and He delighteth in them; or, Where is the God of judgment?” – Malachi 2:17

Malachi does not meander around the issue – he makes it clear that our God is not an unjust, “double-tongued” God. He indicates that those who claim that “Every one that doeth evil is good in the sight of the LORD, and He delighteth in them” are chronic liars. Today we see this concept resonating forcefully on the street and throughout our societies – there are some who want to fool others into thinking that every one that doeth evil is good in the sight of the LORD, and He delighteth in them. Today we have individuals who are determined to act as though God delights in those that do evil. This concept is totally false. The God of heaven and earth hates evil.

The sentence “And I will come near to you to judgment; and I will be a swift witness against the sorcerers, and against the adulterers, and against false swearers, and against those that oppress the hireling in his wages, the widow, and the fatherless, and that turn aside the stranger from his right, and fear not me, saith the Lord of hosts.” resonates with me because it addresses several key issues that are plaguing our society today. This sentence is verse 5 of Malachi 3 and serves as a direct answer to those who want to ask “Where is the God of judgement?” This sentence squealed my tires on the hard asphalt because it talks about the fact that our Creator is not an absentee God – He will come near to us to judgement. This sentence not only assures me that judgement will happen and that it would be fair, it indicates what my role should be against oppressors.

Stop and think about it for a moment: being patient, kind, and forgiving is crucial to the DNA of a follower of Jesus. However, because I am patient, kind and forgiving, does this give me licence to be unfair and to be hesitant/uncertain/compromising when I see oppression before my eyes?

Because I am patient, kind and forgiving does that mean I must be a slow witness against the sorcerers, and against the adulterers, and against false swearers, and against those that oppress the hireling in his wages, the widow, and the fatherless, and that turn aside the stranger from his right?

Because I am patient, kind and forgiving does that mean I am to a slow witness against disrespect to God?

Because I am patient, kind and forgiving does this mean I have the right to excuse oppression when I see it in my own self?

When I am on the road and hear the widespread harrassment and harm that persons undergo who are targetted by sorcerers should I be silent?

When I know that an adulterous relationship is being alluded to in conversation or negotiated/contemplated/perpetrated should I promote it?

When I am a part of the decision-making committee that wants to put in place policies like “no recourse to public funds” for persons who are strangers/foreigners but have worked diligently and paid their full taxes should I be silent?

When I see someone being messed about and mistreated regarding their wages should I be silent?

When the widow, and the fatherless, and strangers are being sidelined and worked over and overworked is this the time to roll up my tinted windows and sniff my hot chocolate with my AC unit on full blast?

When I see and hear “false swearers” churning their lies out in barefaced arrogance with no consideration for the after-effects should I promote this?

When I am tempted to ignore people who disrespect the Name of the Most High God should I be silent and fail to correct my actions and my own disrespect?

Certainly, my role against oppressors should be the same like the stance of our Creator. I should come near to [ you/me ] to judgment – I should be a swift witness against the sorcerers, and against the adulterers, and against false swearers, and against those that oppress the hireling in his wages, the widow, and the fatherless, and that turn aside the stranger from his right – I should be a swift witness against all who disrespect God.

*** All Bible texts quoted above are from the King James Version, unless referenced differently.

Photo Credit: https://pixabay.com/en/nissan-silvia-drift-competition-339127/

Leave a Reply

