The Power Of Letting Go

 The Power of Letting Go, Hoard, Trust, God, Holiday, Supremacy, Fight, Testimony, Distrust

Part of our fallen sinful nature is our unquenchable desire for control. We like to know that we are in charge of every aspect of our life’s and to some extent the aspect of other peoples life’s too. We daily have this contest or war within ourselves for supremacy. Supremacy in our finances, Supremacy in our health, Supremacy in our jobs, Supremacy in our love life’s, Supremacy in our dress……and the list goes on. Everywhere in our life’s is seen our selfish fight for carnal supremacy. Everyday I am learning more and more about myself and how selfish I am. This post will be my most soul searching, testimonial post thus far. God has been to me what human language cannot express. To try to put my praise to Him for His wonderful works and love towards me into words would be an insult to my Creator. Words cannot dear express His goodness to my selfish being. Yet still knowing all this I see the fight for Supremacy in my own life. I see my daily struggle to let go and let God have his way in my life. I see my daily struggle to want to take control of everything around me. I see my daily struggle to still put my trust in earthly things. In all of this I hear His still small voice say:
“Thus saith the Lord; Cursed be the man that trusteth in man, and maketh flesh his arm, and whose heart departeth from the Lord.For he shall be like the heath in the desert, and shall not see when good cometh; but shall inhabit the parched places in the wilderness, in a salt land and not inhabited. Blessed is the man that trusteth in the Lord, and whose hope the Lord is. For he shall be as a tree planted by the waters, and that spreadeth out her roots by the river, and shall not see when heat cometh, but her leaf shall be green; and shall not be careful in the year of drought, neither shall cease from yielding fruit. Jeremiah 17:5-8”

This week my faith was put to the test again when God sent a curveball my way and I failed miserably. The seeds of my selfishness sprang up before me and I was left asking myself after the ordeal “How dear you be unselfish to God when He’s been so selfless to you?” “How dear you put your trust in Mammon and earthly goods when God has been exceedingly abundantly good above all you can ever ask or imagine?” The answer came back to me “You trust not because of pride.” Pride is the cause for our lack of trust and fight for supremacy. It is pride that drives our desire to hoard and hold on to what we have and refuse to share with others around us because we fear that if this is not done we will become destitute and in need in the future. We fear our families will come to lack that which can sustain them and make them comfortable in this life. What we fail to realize, what I fail to realize is that God is the one who holds the balances of this world in his hands and He sways it and moves it how he wishes and therefore we need to trust Him for our future. We need to let go of our fight for self sustenance and instead let God fight for us. We cannot go wrong, we cannot lose when we decide to trust our future needs in the hand of Him who holds the future.

This holiday put him to the test and give whatever he ask of you. Your time, your finances, your loves, your hates, your family, your health, your whatever and see the bountiful returns if not in this life in the life to come when God grants every men His reward. This is no easy thing to do. How do I know? Because its still a struggle I face to let go and let God have his way in my life, for Him to use me as He will, for me to totally surrender my all to Him. But instead of fighting for supremacy the words of Colossians must instead be our constant fight:

“And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men; Colossians 3:23”

*** All Bible texts quoted above are from the King James Version, unless referenced differently.

Photo Credit: https://pixabay.com/en/icon-trust-symbols-online-internet-1691321/

Leave a Reply

