Why I Have To Sing “I Need Thee Every Hour”

Blackmail, Exploitation, Family, Food, GMO, Healthy, Help, International Live News, Philosophy, Poetry, Sing, Twitter, Videos, Why I Have To Sing “I Need Thee Every Hour”

When An­nie S. Hawks, [1872] and Ro­bert Low­ry put the words and music respectively to the song called “I Need Thee Every Hour”, I am sure they did not fully comprehend the power of this song nor the revelation it would share throughout eternity. Besides the fact that this is one of the few songs that I actually happen to know the tune and lyrics for, it also gives me several reasons to sing it over and over again!

When I think about how quickly the tonality of my voice, the expressions on my face and the emotions in my soul can change if someone offends me or causes me distress – I have to sing verse 1:

I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;
No tender voice like Thine can peace afford.

When I think about the challenges that arrest people who eat food as we see in this video right here…and then realise that even if I eat plant food and reduce my meat intake I have to be very cautious that my new fruit/vegetable/herb diet is not GMO infiltrated, pesticide poisoned, etc – I have to sing verse 2:

I need Thee every hour, stay Thou nearby;
Temptations lose their power when Thou art nigh.

When I think about how strong and smelly body odor can get so much so that people choose to apply dangerous cancer-causing products in the form of antiperspirants which contain aluminium, etc…just to smell clean and keep body odor under wraps – I have to sing verse 3:

I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain;
Come quickly and abide, or life is in vain.

When I think about the failure of economies, international trade, student loans, education, etc.. to deliver the real solutions and a thorough escape from poverty, I have to pause. I have to say: “Have we been sold a lie?” – I have to sing verse 4:

I need Thee every hour; teach me Thy will;
And Thy rich promises in me fulfill.

When I think about my desire to irradicate hunger, starvation, homelessness, crime, violence, teenage pregnancy, sickness, etc – I have to sing the chorus:

I need Thee, O I need Thee;
Every hour I need Thee;
O bless me now, my Savior,
I come to Thee.

When I think about how quick I am to judge others although I am not in their minds, I have not walked in their shoes, I don’t live with them, I don’t know what they eat or how they pay their bills – I have to sing verse 1:

I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;
No tender voice like Thine can peace afford.

When I think about how harrassing satan is and how persistent, deceitful and annoying that father of lies is, how he gossips about us, discourages us, steals from us, kills us and ruthlessly wants to destroy our connection to God no matter the cost – I have to sing verse 2:

I need Thee every hour, stay Thou nearby;
Temptations lose their power when Thou art nigh.

When I think about death, separation, divorce, STDs, drugs, alcoholism,etc… and how these have shaken the core of our families, churches, communities and nations – I have to sing verse 3:

I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain;
Come quickly and abide, or life is in vain.

When I think about worry, fear, worry about bills, fear of unemployment, worry about security, fear of disasters, worry about housing, fear of failure, worry about bankruptcy, fear of going to hell etc… – I have to sing verse 4:

I need Thee every hour; teach me Thy will;
And Thy rich promises in me fulfill.

When I think about the Audacity of Racism, the Blackmail of Poor People, the Insanity of Gossip Addicts, the Exploitation of the Privacies of Rich People, the Utter Inadequacies of Human Philosophies, the Insatiable Obsession of Image Protectors, the Fake Impunity of Workaholics, the Extravagance of God’s Grace, etc – I have to sing the chorus:

I need Thee, O I need Thee;
Every hour I need Thee;
O bless me now, my Savior,
I come to Thee.

As a matter of fact, I don’t just need God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit every hour…I Need Them Every Second!

*** All Bible texts quoted above are from the King James Version, unless referenced differently.

Photo Credit: https://pixabay.com/en/help-support-need-assistance-1714484/

One thought on “Why I Have To Sing “I Need Thee Every Hour”

Leave a Reply

