Debunking The Ancient Myth: Prostitution Is “The World’s Oldest Profession”

Bondage, Career, Debunking The Ancient Myth: Prostitution Is “The World’s Oldest Profession”, Discreet, God, Job, Linkedin, Lust, Marriage, Mind, Money, Profession, Prostitution, Sex

There is an old myth that has been used to whitewash Prostitution over centuries. That myth claims: “the world’s oldest profession” to be Prostitution. Many have attributed this phrase as originating from Rudyard Kipling. Supporters and propellers of this revolting practice have taken Rudyard Kipling’s phrase from his 1888 myth story and used it as a springboard to justify prostitution. But, using a lie to justify another evil is pure evil.

The Merriam-Webster defines prostitution as: “the act or practice of engaging in promiscuous sexual relations especially for money.” The Bible gives us many texts that indicate that prostitution is evil. However, are prostitutes the only persons accountable? The same Bible that tells us:

Do not prostitute thy daughter, to cause her to be a whore; lest the land fall to whoredom, and the land become full of wickedness. – Leviticus 19:29

Marriage is honourable in all, and the bed undefiled: but whoremongers and adulterers God will judge. – Hebrews 13:4

What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.- 1 Corinthians 6:19

This same Bible also indicates:

But I say unto you, That whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart. – Matthew 5:28

But put ye on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make not provision for the flesh, to fulfil the lusts thereof. – Romans 13:14

That he no longer should live the rest of his time in the flesh to the lusts of men, but to the will of God. For the time past of our life may suffice us to have wrought the will of the Gentiles, when we walked in lasciviousness, lusts, excess of wine, revellings, banquetings, and abominable idolatries: [4] Wherein they think it strange that ye run not with them to the same excess of riot, speaking evil of you : [5] Who shall give account to him that is ready to judge the quick and the dead. [6] For for this cause was the gospel preached also to them that are dead, that they might be judged according to men in the flesh, but live according to God in the spirit. – 1 Peter 4:2-7

There is need for accountability. The person who pays for prostitutes is also accountable. Accountable first to God and secondly to his or her fellowmen. The word “lasciviousness” comes from the word “lascivious” which dictionary.com defines as:

1.
inclined to lustfulness; wanton; lewd:
a lascivious, girl-chasing old man.
2.
arousing sexual desire:
lascivious photographs.
3.
indicating sexual interest or expressive of lust or lewdness:
a lascivious gesture.

Therefore, the lascivious, girl-chasing old man/young boy, the lascivious, boy-chasing old woman/young girl and the lascivious, homosexual/lesbian are all accountable for their actions. Prostitution is bondage and it binds the minds of all who partake: the purchaser, the seller, the negotiator and all the secondary affiliates.

So what’s the solution? The solution is Jesus Christ. For that person who might have come across this post and wants a few songs to encourage him or her out of the bondage of prostitution, here are some powerful verses from some awesome hymns that will help to lift you out:

1 I need thee every hour,
most gracious Lord;
no tender voice like thine
can peace afford.
Refrain:
I need thee, O I need thee,
every hour I need thee.
O bless me now, my Savior;
I come to thee.

2 I need thee every hour;
stay thou near by;
temptations lose their power
when thou art nigh. [Refrain]

3 I need thee every hour,
in joy or pain;
come quickly and abide,
or life is vain. [Refrain]

4 I need thee every hour;
teach me thy will;
and thy rich promises
in me fulfill. [Refrain]

– Author: Annie S. Hawks (1872); Author (refrain): Robert Lowry (1872)

Another awesomely inspirational hymn that is tremendously helpful in gaining the victory is:

1 Take the name of Jesus with you,
Child of sorrow and of woe;
It will joy and comfort give you,
Take it then where’er you go.
Chorus:
Precious name, oh how sweet!
Hope of earth and joy of heav’n;
Precious name, oh how sweet!
Hope of earth and joy of heav’n;

2 Take the name of Jesus ever
As a shield from ev’ry snare;
When temptations round you gather,
Breathe that holy name in prayer.
[Chorus]

3 Oh, the precious name of Jesus!
How it thrills our souls with joy,
When His loving arms receive us
And His songs our tongues employ.
[Chorus]

4 At the name of Jesus bowing,
Falling prostrate at His feet,
King of kings in heav’n we’ll crown Him
When our journey is complete.

– Author: Lydia Baxter (1870)

Another very powerful song that indicates the power of taking Jesus’ hand is:

1 Precious Lord, take my hand,
Lead me on, let me stand;
I am tired, I am weak, I am worn.
Through the storm, through the night,
Lead me on to the light.
Take my hand, precious Lord;
Lead me home.

2 When my way grows drear,
Precious Lord, linger near,
When my life is almost gone,
Hear my cry, hear my call;
Hold my hand lest I fall.
Take my hand, precious Lord;
Lead me home.

3 When the darkness appears
And the night draws near
And the day is almost gone,
At the river I stand;
Guide my feet, hold my hand,
Take my hand, precious Lord;
Lead me home.

– Author: Thonas Andrew Dorsey (1938)

Today is the perfect time for us to pray and encourage those around and ourselves as we debunk the satanic lie called prostitution and replace it with the truth that by the grace and power of Jesus Christ we can live holy, clean and pure lives!

*** All Bible texts quoted above are from the King James Version, unless referenced differently.

Photo Credit: absfreepic.com/free-photos/download/the-cards-inside-the-wallet-3898x2598_25775.html

Leave a Reply

