***The Showstopper***

Christianity, Entertainment, Family, Food, Hyde Park, Inspiration, Instagram, London, Movie, Photography, Travel, Twitter, Writing

It was almost as if I were watching a Blockbuster Primetime Movie!!! The scene was set! Over 5000 people were enjoying themselves listening to this man talk. It was as if in the middle of the desert this particular guy had created his own “Speakers’ Corner” similar to the one found in Hyde Park, London. Except! it was in the middle of the desert! As the truth this particular guy spoke rippled through the desert sand his audience was so impressed that they did not even notice or care to leave the desert although it was late in the evening. Some of the people who have read what took place next found the fascinating thing to be that 5000 people were willing to obey this particular guy and sit in groups of hundreds and fifties in the middle of the desert! Some of the people who have read what took place next found the fascinating thing to be the willingness of a little boy to give away the five barley loaves and two small fishes he had with him! Some of the people who have read what took place next found the fascinating thing to be the power of the prayer and the satisfaction of the people – having consumed the miracle of five barley loaves and two small fishes which resulted in a surplus of 12 baskets full of fragments!But!!!! , What had me “breakdancing” this week was when I approached the record of this event from the perspective of Mark. Mark goes on to explain that after this astounding miracle had just happened, that very night Jesus disciples had found themselves toiling hard to keep their boat afloat as the wind and sea tossed them about. Mark 6:49-51 reads:

“[49] But when they saw him walking upon the sea, they supposed it had been a spirit, and cried out:

[50] For they all saw him, and were troubled. And immediately he talked with them, and saith unto them,

Be of good cheer: it is I; be not afraid.

[51] And he went up unto them into the ship; and the wind ceased: and they were sore amazed in themselves beyond measure, and wondered.

The Showstopper comes in verse 52 when Mark identifies the reason why Jesus’ disciples “were sore amazed in themselves beyond measure and wondered.”

Mark reveals to us the disciples’ dirty little secret. The disciples secret was, “…they considered not the miracle of the loaves: for their heart was hardened.” So often I see myself doing the same thing like the disciples. Just like the disciples I see myself forgetting, slighting, and underrating the miracles in my life. My heart feels hard like stone! – just like the disciples! When my miracle first took place it was like the new-found colgate of my mouth! – I wanted to talk about it all the time but as soon as I find myself between a rock and a hard place my heart becomes hard as stone and I purposely forget what God has done in my life.

So the challenge for this upcoming week that I have given to myself is to:

1. Give God my stoney ungrateful heart.
2. Pay attention to what He is doing in my life.
3. Refuse to forget, slight and underrrate His magnificent blessings in my life.
4. Consistently and continuously praise His glorious name.

*** All Bible texts quoted above are from the King James Version.

Image above compliments: absfreepic.com/free-photos/download/waves-in-storm-sea-4000x3000_32136.html

Leave a Reply

