Should I Allow?

Acceptance, Endorsements, Friendship, God, Influence, Neighbor, People, Products, Rejoice, Reviews, Should I Allow?, Society, Testimony, Truth

In recent times I have come across several instances where God has indicated that our influences upon people are very important. The impact of our influence upon other individuals combined with the endorsements we choose to give. It is no secret that endorsements are rampant in our society. For example:
1. Various politicians have chosen to make public endorsements of their fellow-politicians
2. Famous writers give substantial support to their fellow-writers by granting their seal of approval in the form of endorsements found on the back cover of newly-released books
3. Actors and actresses lend verbal testimonies to strengthen advertisements of their favorite hair products.
[…The list of endorsement examples is inexhaustible…]The question is, however, “Should I allow my word, my influence, my endorsement, my review and my testimony to be manipulated. Should my friendship, monetary gain, need for acceptance and other factors taint my contribution to society so that I join hand in hand in promoting a product that I really hate…a concept I do not believe in…a person who is not suitable for the position?”And futhermore, what guidance can we find in God’s Holy Word regarding how to use our influence responsibly? In addtion, how can the evidence we see today in the Holy Bible help us to make correct choices?

In the Holy Bible God calls out Eli for the way Eli has used his own influence. Diving into the series of events in 1 Samuel 2, we come face to face with the situation:

[12] Now the sons of Eli were sons of Belial; they knew not the Lord. [13] And the priests’ custom with the people was, that , when any man offered sacrifice, the priest’s servant came, while the flesh was in seething, with a fleshhook of three teeth in his hand; [14] And he struck it into the pan, or kettle, or caldron, or pot; all that the fleshhook brought up the priest took for himself. So they did in Shiloh unto all the Israelites that came thither. [15] Also before they burnt the fat, the priest’s servant came, and said to the man that sacrificed, Give flesh to roast for the priest; for he will not have sodden flesh of thee, but raw. [16] And if any man said unto him, Let them not fail to burn the fat presently, and then take as much as thy soul desireth; then he would answer him, Nay ; but thou shalt give it me now: and if not, I will take it by force. [17] Wherefore the sin of the young men was very great before the Lord: for men abhorred the offering of the Lord. (1 Samuel 2:12-17 KJV)

Here we see an abuse of God’s system by Eli’s sons. Their greed, “bossiness” and despicable bullying of the Israelites even caused the Israelites to feel hatred towards the process of dealing with Eli’s sons and the offering of the Lord.

In Eli’s own words, we get an even clearer picture:

[23] And he said unto them, Why do ye such things? for I hear of your evil dealings by all this people. [24] Nay, my sons; for it is no good report that I hear: ye make the Lord’s people to transgress. – 1 Samuel 2:23-24 (KJV)

If there was a text from this passage that sums up the answer to our question,  “Should I allow my word, my influence, my endorsement, my review and my testimony to be manipulated. Should my friendship, monetary gain, need for acceptance and other factors taint my contribution to society so that I join hand in hand in promoting a product that I really hate…a concept I do not believe in…a person who is not suitable for the position?” it is this one right here in 1 Samuel 2:29 (KJV)

[29] Wherefore kick ye at my sacrifice and at mine offering, which I have commanded in my habitation; and honourest thy sons above me, to make yourselves fat with the chiefest of all the offerings of Israel my people?

From God’s question to Eli it is clear that under no circumstance should Eli have honoured his sons above God to make themselves fat with the chiefest of all the offerings of Israel.

From God’s question to Eli it is clear that under no circumstance should I allow my word, my influence, my endorsement, my review and my testimony to be manipulated away from what is truth.

From God’s question to Eli it is clear that under no circumstance should my friendship, monetary gain, need for acceptance and other factors taint my contribution to society so that I join hand in hand in promoting a product that I really hate…a concept I do not believe in…a person who is not suitable for the position.

What guidance can we find in God’s Holy Word regarding how to use our influence responsibly?

[16] These are the things that ye shall do; Speak ye every man the truth to his neighbour; execute the judgment of truth and peace in your gates: [17] And let none of you imagine evil in your hearts against his neighbour; and love no false oath: for all these are things that I hate, saith the Lord. – Zechariah 8:16-17(KJV)

In addtion, how can the evidence we see today help us to make correct choices?
Based on the dramatic and tragic end of the story of Eli in 1 Samuel 4, the evidence suggests to us that it order to make correct choices about our words, our influences, our endorsements, our reviews and our testimonies we must:

1. Be Courageous.

2. Give God our highest honour at all times even above family and friends.

3. Indulge in self-examination so that this text rings true in our everyday life – “…8Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” – Philippians 4:8 (KJV).

Image above compliments: http://www.freephotosbank.com/7523.html

Leave a Reply

