My Life Span May Be Short But…,

My Life Span May Be Short But..., Flourish, Hurt, Jesus, Book, Scared, Anxious, Pray, Flowers, Picture, Smile, Morning, Inspiration

I took this picture this morning. It was the last one on the tree that was in full bloom. All the others were either brown and dried or yellow but not opened yet. The position of this flower called for a little stretch but I think its beauty was well worth the stretch.

At first I thought okay this is just another photograph, but when I arrived home I began reading the 4th chapter of the 50th book of the Holy Bible and immediately the power in this early morning photograph unwrapped itself to me.

Here I was, pondering what the 8th week of this year 2015 would be like…How many more flowers I might meet on my walk that would be worth taking a photo shoot…etc, etc…Then as I turned to Philipians 4:6, 7 it occured to me that the flower in my photograph above was echoing the words I read:

– Don’t be anxious…I know I am the only flower of this type that is open and in full bloom this morning – but I’m not scared…I didn’t make it to bloom with the other 15th flowers that bloomed yesterday, but that’s okay…I am going to smile and be happy and peaceful because I refuse to fret about this world… My life span might be short and I made you stretch to take my picture, but I am still going to smile and move to the beat of the fresh air that’s blowing to make me cool…I know that the same God that made me a bright yellow flower is your God too and He will give you His peace and power once you ask Him to!

My Life Span May Be Short But..., Flourish, Hurt, Jesus, Book, Scared, Anxious, Pray, Flowers, Picture, Smile, Morning, Inspiration

When flowers talk its really powerful!

Paul, in Phillipians 4:12 and 13 takes it a few steps deeper and says:

My Life Span May Be Short But..., Flourish, Hurt, Jesus, Book, Scared, Anxious, Pray, Flowers, Picture, Smile, Morning, Inspiration,

In other words, Paul is sharing with his audience that “being anxious for nothing has become like a fun pasttime for him now. It is as though Paul is saying: Dude, I know how to be shamed, humiliated, demeaned, crushed, rejected, offended, disgraced,…etc.  But! I know also what it means to have plenty, excess, achieving, succeeding, progressing, and flourishing in abundance. His daily instruction and wealth of experience with Jesus Christ has given him the knack/skill of being able to appreciate the spectrum of abundance and the reality of suffering.

And amidst these various experiences Paul is encouraging us to refuse to rollercoaster ourselves into self-pity, uncertainty and fear – for our power to live a powerful, victorious, unmanipulated life lies in resting in the arms of Jesus Chirst and giving Him all our fears, wants, desires, regrets, talents, incompetences while recieving His Peace that passes all understading and His Joy that exceeds our comprehension.

Have a great bright, sunny, cheerful day!

Leave a Reply

