How To Give Away The Accursed Load?

How To Give Away The Accursed Load?, Habits, Thoughts, Emotions, Inclinations, Actions, Stains, Shortchanged, Accurate, Load, Accursed, Pride, Freedom

Image above compliments: GeekPhilosopher: Instant download of free stock photos, images, backgrounds, and desktop wallpapers. Pictures can be used on personal or commercial web sites.

One of the temporary titles I had for this post was “How To Give Away The Load? ” but then I realised that I would have shortchanged the content by neglecting to give you an adjective to describe the load. So our final title is “How To Give Away The Accursed Load?” Allen W. Foster composed a beautiful melody to a song of tremendous significance. His melody helps to extract the flavours found in the words which were written by Horatius Bonar. In our world today so many people long to give away, put down and flee from loads.

For the searching soul the last verse of Horatius Bonar’s song describes one of humanity’s greatest wishes – a desire to be in a safe place with safe people enjoying life. The anticipation of this safe and beautiful environment becomes so great and just the mere imagination of no pain, no sickness, no depression and no poverty makes one want to jump, sing and shout. These are the words of his fifth verse:

I long to be with Jesus
Amid the heav’nly throng,
To sing with them His praises,
And learn the angels’song,
And learn the angels’song.

Horatius Bonar in his fourth verse plunges into talking about his longing to be like the One he admires. He describes a freedom that I myself long for – a place where I can exchange my load called Pride for the profound humility and accurate thinking of Jesus – a place where trust in God is automatic, genuine and strong. His fourth verse goes like this:

I long to be like Jesus,
Meek loving, lowly, mild;
I long to be like Jesus,
The Father’s holy child,
The Father’s holy child.

According to the Collins dictionary “accursed” means hateful or detestable. This term can actually be applied to the third, second and first verses of Mr. Bonar’s song. He speaks of laying his wants down in verse three. He speaks of the freedom from worry and fear that comes when we lay down the “accursed load” called “Want” that often tries to visit and linger on our doorsteps. Laying down the load called “Want” gives us the freedom from being tossed about by conflict and doubt. This freedom is so refreshing and liberating it changes your perspectives and enables you to appreciate the Warmth of being truly dependent on Jesus.

His 3rd verse tells us where we can lay our wants:

I lay my wants on Jesus,
All fullness dwells in Him;
He healeth my diseases,
He doth my soul redeem,
He doth my soul redeem.

Guilt is another joy stealer – an “accursed” load that makes us feel in need of a new, clean page. The good news is that this New, Clean Page is available. In fact a New, Clean Life is available when we consider the advantages of giving away our “accursed” guilt as shown in verse two of Horatio Bonar’s masterpiece:

I bring my guilt to Jesus,
To wash my crimson stains
White in His blood most precious,
Till not a stain remains,
Till not a stain remains.

The first verse of Mr. Bonar’s song go like this:

I lay my sins on Jesus,
The spotless Lamb of God;
He bears them all, and frees us
From the accursed load,
From the accursed load.

How To Give Away The “Accursed” Load? How To Give Away The Habits, Actions, Inclinations, Thoughts and Emotions that seem to want to autopilot us into a state where we think all is lost? This can be done by saying to yourself in your mind right where you are whether on a busy highway, on the subway at an Internet cafe or wherever you read this blog: Jesus I am tired of this load this “accursed” load I am carrying right now. Free me for I know You are the only One who can bear them and free me from myself and my weaknesses. Please be with me in every decision and situation for the rest of my life. Thank You Jesus, Amen.

2 thoughts on “How To Give Away The Accursed Load?

  1. Pingback: Exquisite Rendition! | Rejoice!

  2. Pingback: What If There Were No Toilets? | Rejoice!

Leave a Reply

