Marvelous and Profound! Anywhere! Anywhere! Anywhere!

Amid the multitude of situations arising right at this moment – 9th Sept 2013, I found a song that has touched my heart in that it was able to remind me of the Power that is able to take care of any person who is presently concerned about any looming/threatening situation. Disaster, war cries, and distressing situations constantly try to erase the praise from our lips that should rightfully go to our Creator.  However, in whatever situation – I am determined to remember who Jesus is. He is more powerful than satan and although satan tries to malign and slander Jesus – I choose to give Jesus all my praise for keeping our world in the palm of His hands and giving us mercy.  I am so pleased to be able to give thanks to: http://www.ccesonline.com/hymns/anywhere.htm which is the website from which I was able to find the story that inspired this marvelous and profound song.

Here are the words and the story they are indeed magnificent:

Anywhere with Jesus I can safely go;
Anywhere He leads me in this world below;
Anywhere without Him dearest joys would fade;
Anywhere with Jesus I am not afraid.

Anywhere! Anywhere! Fear I cannot know;
Anywhere with Jesus I can safely go.

Anywhere with Jesus I am not alone;
Other friends may fail me, He is still my own;
Though His hand may lead me over dreary ways,
Anywhere with Jesus is a house of praise.

Anywhere! Anywhere! Fear I cannot know;
Anywhere with Jesus I can safely go.

Anywhere with Jesus I can go to sleep,
When the darkening shadows round about me creep;
Knowing I shall waken never more to roam,
Anywhere with Jesus will be home, sweet home.

Anywhere! Anywhere! Fear I cannot know;
Anywhere with Jesus I can safely go.

In the late 1860’s Jessie Browner, a gifted poet living in Cleveland, Ohio, received a letter in the mail from D.B. Towner. Dr. Towner was an associate of the famous evangelist D.L. Moody. Enclosed was the music to a song, and a request for Miss Browner to write the words with the theme, “Anywhere With Jesus.”

The inspiration for the music had come while Dr. Towner was listening to one of Moody’s powerful messages proclaiming that the Christian could go anywhere without fear for Christ was ever by his side.

It didn’t take the young lady long to put words to the music for the lilting tune that became one of the most popular gospel songs of that time. Verse three was added later by Helen G. Alexander

Jessie Brown continued her writing for many years, and became the wife of Rev. John E. Pounds in 1896. *

Leave a Reply

